Always Be Coding

As a professional software developer, we should pursue to be better programmers. One activity I adopted some years ago, is: "Always Be Coding”. Every day, write a piece of code. Try something new. Improve something old. Open your brain. Explore a new path. Learn a new language. Practice TDD every day. Push for simplicity. Start a simple project “Hello world” using new technology or operating system. Write a simple web site using the new web framework in the block. If you write C# or Java, try Ruby or Clojure. If you use Ruby on Rails, try Sinatra, or make a switch to Python and Django. If you like Lisp, try ClojureScript for a web project. If you like Smalltalk, try Pharo and Seaside. If you are a programming language geek, go for Rust, Go, Dart. If you write ASP.NET MVC for a living, try SignalR, then Node.js and Socket.IO. Change your editor. Change your programming language. Or write your own.

Even if all these languages, technologies, libraries, and frameworks are not in your “daily work”, the new insights are welcome. And the constant practice makes the master. If you keep the brain open, new ideas could fertilize your mind and your skill toolbox. In our profession, the change is the only constant. Altought there are other things to practice, “soft” skills, teamwork, you (and me) should be trained every day.

So, to put my money where my mouth is, every day I write a piece of code, in public and non-public projects. Partial evidence:

That’s is my public commitment: to write code every day. To learn something new, to practice an skill, to explore a new way of doing things. Always be coding

More fun is coming.

Original photo from http://atechnologyjobisnoexcuse.com/2012/04/coffees-for-coders/

Keep tuned!

Angel “Java” Lopez
http://www.ajlopez.com
http://twitter.com/ajlopez

3 thoughts on “Always Be Coding

  1. employee

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.

    It’s always exciting to read content from other authors and use a little something from their websites.

    Reply
  2. tools

    This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively
    professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed
    and look forward to searching for more of your magnificent
    post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

    Reply
  3. hellow world

    I was recommended this blog by way of my cousin. I am not certain whether or not this post is written by him as nobody else
    realize such special approximately my difficulty.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a comment